Victims of Domestic Violence Shouldn’t Be Made Victims to Guns

sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.:

There aren’t many things I can think of that equal the fear of being stalked. I experienced this fear first hand during the time I lived and worked in DC. My work was not to make friends but neither did I plan to encounter individuals believing they had nothing left to lose if they returned to prison because they shot me. Responsible gun ownership is a must if our nation is to become civilized on any level. It’s the criminal with the guns and not the mentally ill that need heightened regulation on gun ownership. Yes, some mentally ill slide through the cracks but nothing closely related to the criminal element in today’s society.

Originally posted on The Secular Jurist:

Courtesy of americansforresponsiblesolutions.org

Courtesy of americansforresponsiblesolutions.org

By Tanya (a Secular Jurist author)

I recently received this message in an email from a group called Americans for Responsible Solutions, of which I am a member. It was started by Congresswoman Gabby Giffords and her husband to fight for gun control laws:

Victims of domestic violence and stalking are at an unacceptable risk of gun violence. In fact, 30.5% of people in New York killed by their intimate partners were murdered with a gun.That number is unacceptable.

But there’s a bill in Congress that will make it much more difficult for convicted stalkers and abusers to own a gun. Next week, for the first time in history, the Senate will hold a hearing on the links between gun violence and domestic violence.

People need to know the harsh realities of guns and domestic violence if we’re going to change the law. As it stands, the…

View original 175 more words

About sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

Retired Fed/JAG, 5 yrs. on Capitol Hill. Former book buyer for B&N. Health Care Reform proponent to include Tri Care and Medicare. Actively pursuing legislative change wherein dual retirees are exempt from enrolling in Medicare @ their own discretion without affecting other benefits. Active legislative analyst. Now writing womens' fiction and professional book reviews. Concerned citizen of military drawdown.
This entry was posted in Reblogged Post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Victims of Domestic Violence Shouldn’t Be Made Victims to Guns

  1. SingleFocus says:

    Very Good Blog Post! It got me to thinking. I agree that those with a history of violence should be unable to legally access guns, but what about those who obtain them illegally? And I’m curious to know how the other 70% victims of domestic violence are killed?
    Hopefully there are commissions or coalitions on educating women of the signs of an abusive relationship and how to flee and/or protect themselves. And then there needs to be intervention before the relationship turns violent. Recently the mayor here called out the men to be accountable for their actions and take a vow of nonviolence against women. In Roanoke Virginia, a group of Pastor’s Wives have a yearly conference informing the community on the signs of potential abusive behavior. It appears to me that there is a need to change the culture or the thinking. If violence against women is constantly portrayed in the media(movies, videos, rap songs, etc.) and men brag about their abusive behavior with no correction or outcry, and women tell others of the abuse and no one informs them of the abnormality; then you have the makings of a desensitized culture. Gun laws may hopefully save 30%, but what’s to be done about the culture of abusiveness that keeps the other 70% in danger?

    • You have raised some excellent questions. I don’t follow the statistics or data regarding violence against women and I can’t answer your questions about what happens to the ‘other 70%.’ It’s not that I don’t care, because I do. My focus is on guns and violence and how are we going to stop the senseless killing that’s going on. One of my thoughts about the desensitizing of not only women but of abuse against all mankind is occurring more and more often as a result of violence being betrayed on television and said television viewing not being monitored by parents. What we see during prime time is graphic violence and often explicit sexual conduct. These are the programs that were once relegated to very late at night or couldn’t be seen on television at all. I’m also a strong believer in not allowing our children to continuously play video games. How can an individual become socialized if they never have the opportunity to interact with others. Our children are computer literate but that’s about where the literacy stops.
      I reblogged this post from the secular jurist. I suggest you might visit the original blog. I bet Tanya could answer your questions regarding violence against women with specifics that I don’t have. The link is within my blog above. Thank you for being interested. Sheri

  2. I totally agree that the use of guns and the proliferation of automatic and semi-automatic weapons has gone to the extreme in this country! I do NOT think the opinion that citizens have a right to own these weapons has anything to do with the Second Amendment (see: http://www.nytimes.com/2014/05/27/opinion/nocera-right-to-bear-arms-means-this.html?_r=0). The use of the Second Amendment used by these violent people to justify their carrying weapons is just plain wrong! What bothers me even further, is the legislation passed to allow residents in various states to carry concealed weapons. WHY? I would NOT allow even toy guns in my house, much less real weapons. Our country is seen as very violent by people in other countries…and I think they are correct. Freedom carries with it the weight of responsibility. Unfortunately, it appears to me that those who are shouting the loudest for the right to carry and use a gun are the least responsible among us. The sale of guns is big business and I think that is the major reason WHY there are no laws to curtail ownership. Sad to say, money is more important than human life. I reposted your article and the one you referred to, written by Tanya, to my Facebook page. I wonder how many Wisconsinites will read it. Unfortunately, we have a governor who seems to care less and less about the moral good.

    • Thank you for posting forward. I appreciate your support on this issue of gun control. I believe weapons are so out-of-control in our country, we may never have a truly safe place to live again. I also believe those who are shouting the loudest are more often than not, the least able to make responsible decisions regarding gun ownership. The article in The New York Times is timely and I appreciate your adding it.
      The issue that makes me a bit crazed over the entire issue is anyone it seems can buy a weapon, any type of weapon. Yet, one time I was trying to get guns out of our home and in a three-county area of North Carolina I could not get a single law enforcement agency to take the weapons from me. I included all local law enforcement agencies as well as the FBI. Of course, I could have sold them out of the trunk of my vehicle for cash and made good money. However, that wasn’t what I intended to do.

  3. inesephoto says:

    Sheri, I think there is also problems with the way people can obtain weapons. The gun sellers. Is everything they sell legal? I doubt it.

    • Hi Inese: You are so right about gun sellers. We have no control over gun shows and just this past week Tom saw an ad for a high-powered weapon with extra ammunition listed on an on-line garage sale. There is nothing legal about that! There are all kinds of questions. Where did the gun and ammunition come from? Who is the seller? The seller and buyer will have to meet to exchange money for merchandise. Could this be a sting operation? That would be a nice change of pace but I rather doubt that’s what’s happening. Tom and I have also seen weapons for sell along with ammunition at what’s advertised as ‘Estate Sales’ but often they turn out to be nothing more than multiple families getting together with all their stuff and hiring an auctioneer. Regulated ‘Estate Sales’ have specific regulations for the sale of weapons. I don’t see the US doing anything regarding guns in my lifetime.

  4. FlaHam says:

    Sheri, I don’t own a gun, never had a gun, and don’t want any in my home. I was staggered by the statistics about NYC homicides, but I wasn’t surprised. But even saying that, I feel that we have a right to defend ourselves. I know this is not what you’re addressing, I fully support any law that can affectively keep guns out of the hands of criminals. I am just not smart enough to figure it out. Please take care, Bill

    • Bill – Thank you for stopping by and entering the conversation. The issue surrounding guns has become so tangled with politics and criminals (and may I say more often than not they are one and the same), I’m happy when someone will step forward and state their opinion.
      I totally agree that we have every right to defend ourselves and those we love. Because the criminal element of the US trades guns for drugs south of the border, we have precious little chance of ever grasping a clue of how to keep the guns out of the hands of criminals. The trade of automatic and semi-automatic weapons is too big to interrupt. Too many people are making a fortune from the trades. My biggest fear has always been the automatic and semi-automatic weapons plus the ammunition so readily available.
      Due to my line of work, I came up against individuals (many of them high-ranking military and government officials) and they knew their ‘kingdoms’ were falling apart. Now I sit back and wonder why I worked so hard. I could have skated and no one would have cared or know the difference, other than the crooks that are still locked up.

      Have a great week, Bill. I’m looking forward to reading your blogs. You always give me a great read and take away material to think about. Sheri

  5. Tess – Hi and thanks for dropping in. I don’t have the answer to the problem. I wish I did because our violent crime rate is growing at an alarming rate.

  6. atempleton says:

    Thanks for all your work on these matters, Sheri.

  7. M-R says:

    A Latin phrase I recall from my childhood: OREMUS …

  8. Sheri, the stark reality of gun use in the US is staggering. Let’s trust that the powers that be will do the right thing by us this time.

    • Florence – Yes, let’s hope. Gabby Gifford and a handful of others are keeping the issue alive without stomping all over the 2nd amendment (or so it seems most of the time). I’ve often wondered why a driver’s license can’t be stamped when a driver has been drunk too many times and ‘no he cannot have another license,’ and the same goes for those that are buying guns and having to show identification. Perhaps that’s too simple. Something, somewhere, sometime has to stop the violence. I don’t have the magic answer but it’s a conversation that must carry on or we’ll be a lawless nation.

  9. We used to have gun registry here but I understand it’s been scrapped.

What's On Your Mind, I'd love To Know

