FarrrTHUR 2 – Women in Agriculture Roles

sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.:

Less than 2% of the US population now takes part in farming. If men and women such as Emily Grace and her husband decide not to farm, our food supply will become more and more endangered.

Originally posted on Beef and Sweet Tea:

The roles of women in agriculture are changing.  We’ve always been important.  What stands to be acknowledged today is how we are evolving with the modern challenges in agriculture.

 

- we are taking over our fathers’ farms

- we are widows owning farms across the nation as we outlive our good farming men

- we are nurturers who have a 6th sense for land and business, family and farm

– we’re the new farmers on the block, and we’re finding that even if we grew up in the city, we’re really good at this farming thing

“From a global perspective, women-run farms dedicated to growing food are far from unusual. Women grow 60% to 80% of developing countries’ food supply and are responsible for half of the world’s food production, according to Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations estimates.”                      ~Katie Micik

Katie Micik writes for The Progressive Farmer magazine/website and…

View original 298 more words

About sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

Retired Fed/JAG, 5 yrs. on Capitol Hill. Former book buyer for B&N. Health Care Reform proponent to include Tri Care and Medicare. Actively pursuing legislative change wherein dual retirees are exempt from enrolling in Medicare @ their own discretion without affecting other benefits. Active legislative analyst. Now writing womens' fiction and professional book reviews. Concerned citizen of military drawdown.
This entry was posted in Reblogged Post and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to FarrrTHUR 2 – Women in Agriculture Roles

  1. sabinianabalagtasbaliba says:

    Kudos for all your good deeds, and incredible posts! To follow you, and learn from you, is a privilege–thanks for the opportunity! More power, and God bless always, Sheri. Aina

  2. Emily Grace says:

    Sheri, all these comments from you and your readers just bless my heart. Thank you so much for all this encouragement!

  3. Ahmed says:

    many if not most of males especially “alpha males -as they like to be called–” think it’s not straight to be interested in nature and agriculture. A friend of mine always mocks my love for flowers and trees, yet he doesn’t realize the importance of them and the impacts of desertification on our planet, Earth. I support every woman and man who work in agriculture Even if they the government doesn’t reward them, God will do, definitely. Wonderful post :)

  4. cindy knoke says:

    You quail raising, bird rescuing, phenomonol person you! I am grateful I know you~

    • Cindy – I had no idea I’d love the birds and wildlife on the property as much as I did. The prior owners hadn’t bothered to nurture anything, including the wildlife. There was something new and interesting to explore each day. The entire state of NC is beautiful but I so fell in love with the place we called home. However, it was not a user friendly place for Tom and I knew we had to leave.

  5. I grew up with 5 sisters and a supermom that showed us what an amazing, strong parent should be. He was my dad’s source of stength and inspiration from farming to raising kids. I always know women are stronger and powerful. As for the dwindling of women in farming, that is both sad and scary. Yes, things are changing with modernization but our basic human needs don’t. We need to preserve practices, way of life, careers that brought positivity and light in today’s present. Great post.

  6. Thanks for the introduction Sheri – isn’t it amazing the diversity of people we connect with in this world? I wouldn’t normally have thought I’d be reading about a beef farmer, yet it looks like such an intriguing blog that I’ve started to follow it.

  7. inesephoto says:

    I am glad you re-blogged this, Sheri. Emily Grace’s blog is one of the best I have read so far, and it is because it makes a difference. My daughter has a garden and her husband keeps some bees. I am proud of what they do. I think that one of the most valuable Government policies could be attraction and encouragement of youth into farming.

    • Hi Inese – One of the best programs I’ve heard about is a Veteran who started a trucking garden in Southern CA and as he expanded he hired other Veterans that proved they were either clean and sober of drugs and alcohol or had become that way. It’s regular employment for the Veterans, and they are feeding a section of Los Angeles that otherwise would not have fresh vegetables in their food banks. It seems to be a work-work and a win-win all the way around.

      • inesephoto says:

        Hi Sheri! It is amazing what you say. We all know how work in the farm could be soothing for a wounded soul. They are away from the nonsense, doing something real and rewarding. God bless them!

  8. I really enjoyed this. SO different from anything I’ve read before. I signed up for her blog posts. Thanks so much. An entirely new world out there for me to learn about.
    Patti

    • Patti – Hello. Emily Grace writes and has wonderful photography in every blog she posts. I believe you’ll not only learn about a different way of life but one of the things that drew me to her blog the first time was a series of photos of a man on horseback in horrible weather (the same as I’d seen my Dad do over and over as he’d protected his animals over the years). Emily Grace embraces what it means to be a young farmer’s wife today and I love having mini-conversations with her as I know how things were done ‘in my day’ and the farming community ways of loyalty and coming to each others aid when there was nowhere else to turn. Her fresh approach to understanding the language and working knowledge of what it takes to make a farm work and turn a profit are well written and photographed. If time permits, I encourage you to to go back and read some of her earlier posts. They are all equally good. Sheri

  9. FlaHam says:

    Sheri, this is what I offered Emily as a comment. Emily, I came to via a reblog by Sheridegrom, and this is such an interesting read. I claim to be from Kentucky and all the farmers I ever encountered were men, but in south central Kentucky the best vegetable gardens with the best veggies, all came from the labors of the Farmers wife. I never made the coronations between the two until reading this piece. Take care, Bill

    • Bill, I’m pleased you commented on Emily’s blog. She’s a real asset to the agriculture community as a whole and a keeper of information of what’s happening in today’s agriculture. Of course I love it also based on the fact that I grew up on a working farm/ranch and have many memories that correlate to Emily’s blogs. She’s an important voice.
      My mother always had one of those huge vegetable gardens but each time my father called that he needed another set of hands, it was my mother that always went. Dad had hired hands for many years, but in the wee hours of the morning and often late at night, those extra hard tasks fell to my mother.
      Farming can be such a hard life and not especially lucrative, you have to love the soil or you wouldn’t be there.

  10. gpcox says:

    Great re-blog, Sheri. And thanks for the update!

  11. Wow. Love this post. I had no idea but I am not surprised. Someone has to step in when the need arises and women have been carrying the load for a long, long time. :-D I’m proud to be a woman.

    Yes, BTW, how ARE you? Better, I hope, and your husband?

    • Hi Tess, Yes, Emily Grace never fails to deliver the goods. She’s a strong voice in the tough world of agriculture. It’s indeed a place where you either love it or hate it. We need more women like her if the agriculture industry is going to survive in the U.S.
      As for your question about me. I’m moving along and Tom had emergency heart surgery but he’s making great strides in recovery. I’ll be posting more about that situation later. Gurr!!!

  12. I loved this post and started following her. I’ve read a few times that women are the largest land owners in the country. It’s the case around me I know. Are you feeling a wee bit better Sheri?

    • Hello Levi, It’s always nice to see you here. I fell in love with Emily Grace’s blog the very day I found it. She’s a strong voice for agriculture and we need one today more than ever. So many think of farmers getting rich off of government subsidies but that’s simply not true of the family farm. Every single day is about financial management. The statistics of what once made up the acreage of family farms and now belonging to foreign governments (especially China) is alarming.

      • I agree. The family farm is about extinct in this country. Certainly it is subsidized by off farm income. The big corporate owned farms get huge subsidies. I get the printout each year. It is staggering. Thanks for sharing this Sheri. Hope you are continually doing better.

        • I’d like to know the number wherein both husband and wife work away from home simply to keep the farm afloat. My father worked away from home many years in order that us kids might go to college. I look back on the horrendous hours he worked and the sacrifices he and Mom both made and I wonder how they managed to live through it and never once complain. My joy in my father’s later years was being able to tell him that I was now his retirement plan as my husband and I made him as comfortable as possible. My career took me all over the world and my mother had passed. Dad loved to travel and all I had to do was pick up the phone and tell him where to pick up his ticket and away we’d go.
          I’m thankful I grew up on a Kansas ranch/farm. My parents instilled in me the love of the land and a strong moral code. I’ve always believed that’s how I survived my gov. career.
          Blessings to you and your family, Levi.

  13. treyzguy says:

    I learn so much from you….
    How’s Mr. Tom doing?

    • Hey Trez, Darn it. How did you fall out of my reader? Gurr. It makes me unhappy when that happens. I’m glad you popped in here. Thanks for leaving a comment so I’d recognize my reader has a definite problem. I’m attempting to get everyone listed in my ‘Delicious’ account and that should solve the problem.
      Thanks for asking about Tom. I plan to post an updated blog soon. He had emergency heart surgery last Wednesday and now he’s better than he’s been in at least 4 years and perhaps even longer. We are happy, happy, happy. He had gone rapidly down hill since the last time we’d talked and today he’s all smiles. It’s interesting what can happen when you fire a couple of doctors from the old team and bring on four new ones.
      You have a great day and wonderful weekend coming up.

What's On Your Mind, I'd love To Know

