the choice

sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.:

I first came upon this posting Via http://stuffitellmysister.me. I’m always guaranteed an honest and thought-provoking read from Paula. The post originates at http://myguiltypleasures.wordpress.com. The prose provides a perfect opportunity for me to reflect on 2013 and approach 2014 with hopefully additional wisdom and acceptance to change.

Originally posted on myguiltypleasures:

what matters - doblelol com

“What Will Matter”  by Michael Josephson

“Ready or not, someday it will all come to an end. There will be no more sunrises, no minutes, hours or days. All things you collected, whether treasured or forgotten, will pass to someone else.

Your wealth, fame and temporal power will shrivel to irrelevance. Your grudges, resentments, frustrations and jealousies will finally disappear.

So too your hopes, ambitions, plans, and to-do lists will expire.

do-it list - zboostyourbusiness com

The wins and losses that once seemed so important will fade away. It won’t matter where you came from, or on what side of the tracks you lived, at the end. It won’t matter whether you where beautiful or brilliant. Even your gender and skin colour will be irrelevant.

So what will matter? How will the value of your days be measured?

measure - republicaboy com

What will matter is not what you bought, but what you built;
Not what you got, but…

View original 231 more words

About sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

Retired Fed/JAG, 5 yrs. on Capitol Hill. Former book buyer for B&N. Health Care Reform proponent to include Tri Care and Medicare. Actively pursuing legislative change wherein dual retirees are exempt from enrolling in Medicare @ their own discretion without affecting other benefits. Active legislative analyst. Now writing womens' fiction and professional book reviews. Concerned citizen of military drawdown.
Aside | This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Reblogged Post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to the choice

  1. JK Bevill - Lost Creek Publishing says:

    Happy New Year Sheri!!

  2. Thanks for sharing this, Sheri. It’s a perfect reflection for the new year. Happy New Year!

  3. viveka says:

    Sheri, thank you so much for reblogging my post … very kind of you, but Michaels words are wroth spreading. I wish you only the best for 2014. Lots .. Viveka

  4. timelesslady says:

    A good way to live in the New Year of 2014. Happy New Year Sheri.

  5. What a lovely post, Sheri. I subscribed to his blog and copied and pasted this for several friends.
    Thank you.
    Patti

    • Happy New Year, Patti. I hope you and your family have a wonderful year ahead. I couldn’t help myself when it came to the reblog and it came at a perfect time. My PC crashed a couple days before Christmas and I don’t have it back yet. In the meantime I’m using multiple systems that we have around the house. I shiver each time I work on Tom’s PC as it has so many advanced design 3-D design features on it. I fear I’ll destroy something he’s worked on and while I know that’s insane thinking, it’s still in the front of my mind. I like the iPad for rapid reading but it’s too slow for typing speed – – – and on and on.
      I was thinking, wouldn’t it be nice if we could meet at that little coffee shop of yours and have that latte or whatever your preferred choice happens to be.

    • Happy new year, Len. I believe I saw on the weather map that it’s considerably colder in your neck of the woods than it is here. However, you are supposed to shove some of those cold temperatures down to us starting sometime in the middle of the night. Please remember to stay safe and warm. Ice and snow are not our friends, they are only pretty to look at when we don’t have to go anywhere.

      • Hahaha it is an actual 3 degrees this morning, with a wind chill of 14 below with a promise by the weather people of 9 degrees this afternoon LOL.I am not sure where you live but you can have this cold stuff. I don’t get out much at anytime but defintely not during weather like this :) Hope you are both doing okay health wise. God Bless.

What's On Your Mind, I'd love To Know

